Doll

CC License View

Yes, I know this is not a doll…but, I just loved the face!

It is hand carved and it has such character and warmth to me.

I finally have one of my sewing machines working again and my

goal has been to make some dolls once I had the sewing machine in

working order…So, let the doll making begin…..

CC License View

She is a tiny doll. I hand painted her face.

CC License View

Yes, I drew and created the pattern for this doll.

Everything is done except, her face…

Still thinking about it.

Today I will be preparing for Thanksgiving then

it is back to Christmas presents and Doll making.

This entry was posted in art, doll, painting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Doll

  1. Ger says:

    A tiny doll with strong arm muscle… I like her…

    • ancientcloth says:

      Hey thank you so much! I have been trying to post nice
      comments for several weeks at your blog and it seems sometimes I just can
      not get through. So I wanted you to know that I do stop
      by and post comments but, they do not always work.
      Love your new leaf piece : ) and thank you again.

      p.s. I think the tiny “muscle” doll has a big spirit : )

  2. julia moore says:

    Ummm, your dolls are intriguing, I can see a lot of soul in their little faces already.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you so much. I am having fun creating some new ones.
      I was without a sewing machine for a very long time and now
      one of them works. I like doing the basic doll on the sewing machine
      for “time” reasons. I do all the details by hand.

  3. You are inspiring me to get out my doll making skills and work on a doll. I think it is just the perfect thing to do around Christmas. I mean to make toys like Santa’s helper. Or just reliving our childhood of playing with dolls. I like the dolls face. What kind of paints do you use? Do you have to prepare the fabric before you paint it…I mean to make it a little more stiff or smoother so your brush doesn’t skip across the fabric and flick the paint? I have not tried painting on fabric so I am just imagining the trouble I would have.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am glad to inspire you to take out the doll making supplies. I agree it is something
      that would be fun just to put around a Christmas tree. I use acrylic paint and I do not
      prepare the fabric in any way. I know some people who paint on fabric do special things…but, not
      me. Occasionally I will use an extender that I mix with the paint to allow me to work with it longer but
      even that is not really necessary on such a tiny project. Give it a try…I think you would have fun.
      : )

Leave a Reply

