Let the “merry-ment” begin

postcard detail

CC License View

after a blue day, I decided it was time for a little merry-ment!

I went through my fabric stash and pulled out every potential holiday/Christmas

fabric I could find. I laid  it out neatly so I could see it all and I let the fun begin…..

merry10

CC License View

Someone ask me what the most important thing to me regarding the holidays was,

and if I had Christmas traditions. My answer was pretty simple. Being with my immediate

family, having good food (special dishes we would not normally prepare) and a warm

place to be.

beads in the tree

CC License View

a close up of beading in the trees….

I have decided that I will be making almost everything I give.

Why? Many reasons….I can not think of a more touching gift than

something made lovingly by someone. I know what it takes to create

a piece of art and I appreciate every stitch, paint stroke, etc.

that goes into it.

Another obvious reason for wanting to create handmade gifts is the

financial side. Also, I think the commercial side has become a bit

disgusting. Don’t get me wrong. I love to give and receive gifts just as

much as anybody but, somehow I see a lack of appreciation in people…

more of an expectation.

postcard20

CC License View

I am sharing the gifts that I know will not be seen….

blank postcard

CC License View

I am making postcards, as a gift, for those people who are far away….

postcards on the edge

CC License View

the completed postcards….

for those interested…I have a new I like that! called Blue Fish.

This entry was posted in art, beading, embroidery, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Let the “merry-ment” begin

  1. I am very curious about your postcards. They are beautiful! Are they 100% cloth or do you have some kind of cardboard inside? I love how you did the back. I have never seen this idea before!! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      My postcards are made from 100% cotton fabric. I draw a postcard size on muslin.
      I piece together the top pieces of fabric over this piece of muslin.
      There are different “grades” of muslin and I prefer the nicer, (little more expensive) ones.
      Then I used the same muslin on the bottom side. I cut a piece of poster board for the
      center to give the fabric postcard a firmer feel. Most people use fusible webbing, but, I am not a fan
      of it. It can be so “gummy”. I did a little research on how to make them and then my friend
      Quilt Architect sent me one. So, I took inspiration from her postcard and some of the research I did.
      Thank you.

  2. Deb G says:

    I’ve been making most of my gifts for years now. I think it does add more to the season.

    • ancientcloth says:

      It does add so much more to the season! In the past
      I have done some but, now I hope to do more handmade. Thank you!

  3. I love the idea of having good food for Christmas. I had some friends from Germany and they said that this is what it meant to have Christmas …being together. They told me that their relatives would send food gifts that were special. It was good because they didn’t want a lot of things…they didn’t have a lot of room and they though deeply about the things that they allowed into their house.

    I think your postcard “gifts” are perfect for being thoughtful and sharing in the idea of being together with those that are far away.

    My hopes for Christmas are really great this year. Everyone is old enough to participate and so I hope to put something together that will make a terrific memory for us all.

    But I don’t want to say too much here. Sometimes it is better to keep our babies (ideas and dreams) protected till they are a little stronger.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you for sharing about your friend! Your gift helped inspire me to follow
      through with the idea of making postcards for Christmas : )
      I am having fun…I like simple and easy. I wish you happy and
      warm memories!

  4. Postcards are a great idea and a very personal gift too. I will try it. Yours are just beautiful ! Thanks for explaining.Usually I quilt small presents like key holders, teapot-mats ? I don’t know the name in English, something you put under a teapot, I add some lavender seeds inside. I also sew Chrismas stars, glasses cases, bookmarks, I add a quilted cover to a simple notebook, just anything I can think of according to the person I offer it to. I agree with your view of giving more of ourselves rather than buying presents. I love your blog :)

    • ancientcloth says:

      Awww! I am blushing…thank you! : )
      The postcards are so much fun to make. For me they are relatively
      quick and easy. I love your idea of making “hot pad holders”
      (teapot- mats) with lavender also, bookmarks, and glass cases. I was trying to
      think of flat things to make so the postage would be minimal too;
      with less fuss over packaging. Thank you for your kind words. I love
      your blog too! : )

Leave a Reply

