thread combining and a “faint” idea

thread combining

CC License View

I did not have the right color of thread so I combined a couple of threads to get

just the right color.

closeup thread

CC License View

different threads thrown in the mix….

embroidery2

CC License View

some embroidery on my new icon…

color contrast

CC License View

idea1

CC License View

a “faint” idea I have sketched out to possibly embroider….

faint idea2

CC License View

a 2nd “faint idea” to embroider???? hmmm….

I quickly drew these ideas on tracing paper so I could cut them out and lay them on

the fabric. (sorry they are not very visible, I had no intention of photographing them and at the last minute I decided to.)

Because the tracing paper is sheer, I can see through the paper

and determine if I like the design next to the fabric…just a little “trick” I use.

candle & thread

CC License View

a candle to add a little festive celebration….

This entry was posted in art, ceremony, embroidery, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to thread combining and a “faint” idea

  1. Deb G says:

    Combining threads is a great idea. Looking great. :)

  2. ancientcloth says:

    I like the combining effect but, it is so
    “subtle” that it is hard to capture with
    a camera. I am having fun with this one.
    I guess because of all the colors..keeps me
    interested. Also, I have begun beading on it
    which also keeps me interested.
    Thanks!

  3. mendofleur says:

    I never thought of combining threads to get the right color, but that is a great solution. I like all your stitching in this and the various fabrics and colors too.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I like that saying “necessity is the mother of invention” or something
      like that : ) and even if that is not the saying it works for me…lol.
      I did not have the right color of thread or least one that pleased me
      and running out just to buy one did not seem practical so I thought
      why not make up one from what I have. Like when I am painting.
      Thank you for your kind words.

  4. I really like your choice of fabrics – are some of them African ? The embroidery definitely adds a special touch to your quilt. It is nice to see how you move on with you quilting. Very inspiring.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am not really sure of the origin of some of my batiks that I use. I love
      African fabrics and have even searched on the web to see what is
      available. I am drawn to unusual and colorful fabrics. Some fabrics
      I have used are reproductions of civil war fabrics and 1930’s fabric.
      Thank you for your kind words : )

Leave a Reply

