back to the beginning…

celitic lion

CC License View

This was the very first piece I did with the intention that I would put together

a quilt. It is a Celtic lion done in embroidery on linen.

It took me quite some time to do this guy but, I am so pleased with the finished result.

the man

CC License View

A little known fact about this picture is that it is the man in my life.

He had really long hair when we met and looked like this.

celtic lion and man

CC License View

I kept thinking about the folded stack of quilt pieces I had begun and they were

calling me, lol, to at least work on what I began.

I feel I want to finish what I began so that I can move forward.

Maybe you never really finish…..

the beginning 2

CC License View

Piecing it together…

please ignore the lower left hand fabric…it was under the quilt pieces when I was

photographing it and I missed cropping it out..ugh!

together7

previously embroidered and pieced quilt

This entry was posted in art, beading, embroidery, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to back to the beginning…

  1. Such a beautiful quilt ! so much love and inspiration in every stitch. Maybe this one you will never finish as it is sewed along with your life ? I love it !

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you so much. You are right. In each quilt piece there is a real story
      about my life. I layed the whole thing out last night and looked at it. Some
      pieces I really love and some I wanted to replace. Kind of like the journey
      along the way…right? : )

  2. Wow I really like this quilt. I had to hold my breath as I went down the page. Very inspiring. I love the Celtic lion. You have a really good hand with embroidery.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Awww…I am blushing. Thanks! I am totally a self
      taught embroidery girl! For that matter pretty much
      most of what I do.

  3. arlijohn says:

    I like this piece, a part of your history.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you so much. I was looking at all the pieces
      last night and realized it was a years worth of “work”
      I was looking at. I could also see how I have evolved
      and changed. It was like looking at a journal and each
      piece holds a story of my life. Thanks again!

  4. Eva says:

    This lion is just stunning!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you. It is a Celtic lion and it took me a long time to do.
      I did not rush through it. I gave myself as much time as I needed.
      I can remember working on it while I was in Amish country…It holds
      that memory : )
      and memories of sitting and watching and listening to crows in a
      forest. Thank you again : )

Leave a Reply

