I heart beads

beadszzz1

CC License View

I am having fun with beads. I began my first artistic endeavors doing beaded earrings.

At the time no one was doing them and there was only one bead shop I knew of and that was

in a major big city. Now they are everywhere and so is the “how to”.

beads and stitchingCC License View

After years of children and way too many moves the beading just fell to the “way side”.

No, I am not planning on jumping into it in a major way. Just a touch here and there

on my quilting projects.

beads1CC License View

My icon is coming along nicely and I decided to keep the yellow after all. I tried several

other colors and prints but, nothing seemed to please me as much.

Lastly, I added a new post for those interested…under I like that!

called on the desk…

Have a great day! : )

This entry was posted in art, beading, embroidery, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I heart beads

  1. mendofleur says:

    Glad you decided to keep the yellow. Beads are so much fun. I particularly like the old ones too that are on old and worn clothing.

  2. ancientcloth says:

    Thank you! I do like the yellow. I agree about old beads…
    Years ago, I had a Victorian beaded
    bag that was falling apart and I used the beads for a Renaissance costume. The ideas are endless.
    Thanks again : )

  3. jude says:

    i have never done much with beads. i have a lot of them too. maybe i should try. i think i might have avoided them because i used to make a lot of functional quilts and they don’t feel to good to sleep with. but for the smaller pieces maybe yes.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think it is a great idea to bead some of the smaller pieces too especially, if they will be framed, etc
      Your work is so much fun to look at and that would only give it another added dimension. : )
      I just used 1 strand of the 6 strands of embroidery thread to put the beads on the fabric.
      Nothing fancy or special.

Leave a Reply

