Remembering those we love ceremony

shrine

CC License View

I painted my paper box black and then added flowers that “echo” the fabric to the sides.

They are not exact replicas of the flowers,  just my free form version. I also added glitter around a few edges.

The box on the

right that says, “shine eternally-William Blake” are matches. I thought the words were

appropriate. The table cloth was made from Laura Ashley fabric that I gave my mother in the 1980’s.

(She made it.)

side shrine

CC License View

A side flower I painted…

top shrine

CC License View

Another view, another flower. My youngest daughter colored and glittered a beautiful

fall leaf. My mother loved the fall, so we decided to add her picture. She also loved pumpkins and Halloween.

Not the scary part of Halloween, just the sweet things! Like cute costumes and pumpkins.

closeup shrine8

CC License View

the complete El Dia de los Muertos!

Shrine.

My mother loved snowmen and my girls and I were out shopping over a week ago and

we came across this one. The minute I saw it…I told my girls my mother would love this.

So I bought it with the intention that It would be a part of my remembering ceremony.

I will wear an apron tonight in the kitchen, while making dinner,  in

honor of my quilting grandmother. She always wore one in the kitchen.

Next year, Maybe I will do a quilt or a quilt piece for El dia de los muertos.

Jude @ spiritcloth.typepad.com

mentioned that a quilt could be a shrine….I like that idea a lot!

new icon!

CC License View

I have the basic layout of my new icon/gravitar.  Only one row of stitching done on this.

At least I was able to pull the fabrics together….still thinking about the yellow…hmmm.

This entry was posted in art, ceremony, embroidery, painting, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Remembering those we love ceremony

  1. What a touching and artistic way to remember the ones you love ! Your creativity has so many facets, it is wonderful. I am thinking of a quilt-souvenir of my dearest mother too.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you so much! : )
      I really enjoy painting, sewing, beading and quilting and
      doll making (something I hope to begin doing soon).
      A quilt souvenir of your mother would be lovely.
      Thanks again.

  2. mendofleur says:

    I like the idea of a quilt as a shrine too. The colors and choices of fabric in this are really wonderful. The piecing on the right side is so rich. I like the yellow, but sometimes it gives me second thoughts in my own work too. It looks great here.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I really am going to ponder this idea of a quilt as a shrine…something I would like to put more time in
      to! Thank you…it is funny how we second guess ourselves…I am going to keep the yellow. The more I am stitching on the icon heart the more I appreciate the yellow. I even tried switching out fabrics but, nothing seemed to work as well…
      : )
      Thank you for your thoughts!

  3. lancelonie says:

    Yes, at least once a year, we remember… :)
    Beautiful post. :)

  4. I love your rituals and the though of more rituals. Today we laughed a lot. Which was hard to do because we also coughed a lot. We have had a lot of sickness this time around and so didn’t get to really think much about Halloween. I like the indoor shrine. I really have always been facinated with shrines in general…ever since I saw and article about them in Quilting Arts. Have you see these fabric shrines. I wonder besides honoring the dead do they create shrines for other things? I know about Ex Voto and I just wonder if they create shrines around these events? Now you have me sparked.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I really enjoy creating my own little rituals. Laughing is good!
      I have seen some fabric shrines but, not the ones in Quilting Arts.
      No one around here carries the magazine : ( (I have been looking
      for it.) You could create a shrine for anything! Hey, the way I look
      at it…it’s my world lol : )

  5. I really like the idea of a Laughing Shrine. I was thinking about doing a shrine to a “unknown father”. I met this man at a 12 step group. He told me after the meeting to make my children laugh a lot. There is never too much laughter for children. So I started making that the focus. The kids were like 2 1/2 and 1 year old. It was really hard to laugh a lot…but when I made that the focus it totally changed everything. I was so grateful to him for this and wanted to tell him how much that had helped me. He never came back which I thought was odd since I could tell he was well seasoned to be able to give me that advise. I asked about him finally and someone told me that he had been shot and killed in a robbery the week after the last meeting that I saw him at. I thought WOW he had given me the message that he was sent down on earth to give and now his flame is up.
    So I think I will be thinking about this Laughter Shrine….it may take a while as I am kinda busy and the holidays are upon us. But thinking is a good investment in our art.

    • ancientcloth says:

      A laughing shrine is a great idea. I believe angels, helpers, or whatever you call them,
      appear along the way! He was obviously that : )

  6. Julia Moore says:

    Dear Marie, I’m a bit late for this comment, but I want you to know how much I loved your shrine for those you remember, around H’oween time. And I love how you got your children involved in this, such a sweet way to teach and pass on values that matter. I also dearly love Mexican inspired color and design, it seems we just can’t go wrong working with them. Love, Julia

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am glad you commented! : )
      I really enjoyed putting together the shrine
      although, I wish I would have started it much
      sooner than I did. My youngest children are 11, 12, 13 and they were intrigued by the whole idea of remembering those who passed away.
      I love Santa Fe, Georgia O’keefe and Frida Kahlo. All those things/people remind me of Mexican colors and design and those are some of the
      things that inspire me. Thank you for your kind words : )

Leave a Reply

