El Dia de los Muertos

day of dead shrine

CC License View

I have never celebrated “Day of the Dead” really and I saw Mary Stanley’s

blog ,   marystanley.blogspot.com Art Spirit.  She does such fabulous shrines that I began thinking about it….

Many thoughts of my Mother have been swirling around in my head.

I even made fried squash, which is something

my mother made on rare occassions , but something she really enjoyed.

I miss her so much.  I decided

I would create a shrine in her memory and perhaps in memory of my

grandmother, who was a quilter.

I searched for a box to make a proper shrine but, simply could not come up with

anything locally. I had to settle for a simple unhinged paper mache’ box. I have

gathered up the other components and I have drawn out what I am going to paint.

This will be the project for today. It is rainy and cold here today so it is the perfect

stay at home project.

Lastly, in between it all I want to work on a new gravitar/icon for my blog…we’ll see…

This entry was posted in art, beading, ceremony, embroidery, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to El Dia de los Muertos

  1. jude says:

    o love mary’s work…. a shrine could be anything i guess…a quilt could be a shrine. cold and rainy here too…

    • ancientcloth says:

      Good point! A quilt could be a shrine! I like that!
      I love all of Mary’s work too! Wish I could have
      met her when I lived in that area…Good stitching
      day! : )

  2. Deb G says:

    Agree with Jude. I wanted to work on my sweet pea quilt that I’m making in honor of my grandfather today but didn’t get there…

    • ancientcloth says:

      Yes, I have been thinking about what Jude said, “A quilt could be a shrine!”
      I like that and would like to create an El Dia de los Muretos quilt!
      Hope you can squeeze in time for some stitching : )
      Have a great day!

  3. Oh I am a little behind. I am seeing that all my answers have been answered. I went looking for shrines on Mary’s blog….I found a few and that answered my question. I will have to keep exploring the idea.
    A quilt as a shrine to hopes, dreams, loses, people, pets, places. hmmm. Lots to think about here.

Leave a Reply

