Trick or Treat?

trick or treat

CC License View

I’ll take the trick, thank you very much!

the trick

CC License View

In the past when I have purchased small fabric “fat quarters” in a square it always

comes wrapped around cardboard. So, I began saving the cardboard….

cut outs (trick)

CC License View

I use the cardboard to cut out patterns. It is the perfect thickness to be sturdy enough, yet lightweight.

Now for the trick….

When I need to make a circular applique or any other shape for that matter… I simply cut out

the shape, iron the fabric around the shape. Gather the fabric to the shape. Then remove the cardboard.

Easy, peezy!

Hope this makes sense. : )   I saw this somewhere about a year ago and I can not remember where otherwise

I would give the person credit but, honest to goodness, I cannot remember.

This entry was posted in art, recycle. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trick or Treat?

  1. Deb G says:

    Nice recycling. :)

    • ancientcloth says:

      Hey, thanks so much! I am trying to get better
      about using what I have on hand and actually
      I started using those little pieces of cardboard
      about a year ago when I was desperately trying to
      find something sturdy to make a pattern out of.

  2. That is very cleaver. I will have to try this, it sure would save time in trying to do the paper piecing thing….and it would work well with the kovak method of quilting. Great way to carry some work with you as well. Thank you!!!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! I love the old saying, “Necessity is the Mother of invention!” I get really creative and resourceful when I have to. : )

  3. What a great idea ! thank you.

Leave a Reply

